Denial and Delusion: he’s not abusive…is he?

Domestic Violence!

Open Ceilings:

I was married to a man who everybody, including myself, believed to be a gentleman. From university classmates, to university teachers, family friends, acquaintances in religious gatherings and the workplace – they all viewed this man as having a soft nature. Nobody could ever imagine him raising his voice, let alone raising his hands. But you know, as they say, things aren’t always as they seem.

Shortly into our marriage, the smoke screen slowly started disappearing. Slowly, the silhouette of a new figure began to appear and I stood there confused, squinching and anxiously guessing at what would emerge from the other side. It was frightening but I often talked myself out of my fears and uncertainties. He was the prince in shining armour and I must’ve not been seeing right…my mind must’ve been lying. And thus began the muddled conversations in my head…

Am I just exaggerating? I do admit; it is my…

View original post 581 more words

Leave a Reply

